South America
World map showing where South America is
World map showing where South America is

South America is the continent located to the south of North America. These two continents are separated by the Panama Canal. It is bounded on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the east by the Atlantic Ocean.

A few important parts of South America's geography include:

South America is made up of the following countries:

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

The following areas are still owned by European countries:

  • Falkland Islands (UK)
  • French Guiana (France)
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (UK)
Continents of the World
Asia | Africa | North America | Central America | South America | Antarctica | Europe | Eurasia | Eurafrasia | Australia
(The Pacific Islands, also called Oceania, are not part of any continent, but sometimes they are grouped with Australia)
Getting around